Programme

Normal Venue

Visitors are always made welcome. We ask for £5 at the door towards costs. Meetings start at 7.30pm and end at 10pm.  Details of the new venue will be added once agreed.

Programme 2020-21

Due to uncertainties regarding coronavirus, we plan to continue with online meetings using video conferencing roughly every two weeks for the foreseeable future. The Programme is subject to change depending on updated official health advice. All future hall based meetings will be in The Solihull Methodist Church Hall.

Day Date Meeting type* Speaker/Event
Tuesday 1/9/2020 Zoom Anne Sutcliffe – Swan song
Tuesday 15/09/2020 Zoom James Kerwin – Tales of abandoned architecture
Tuesday 22/09/2020 Hand in for 1st Aggregate competition
Tuesday 29/09/2020 Zoom 1st Aggregate – Judge Peter Cheetham
Tuesday 06/10/2020 Hand in for Panel Competition
Thursday 08/10/2020 Zoom with Shirley PS Julian Elliott – Mongolia From Steppe To Eagle Hunters
Tuesday 13/10/2020 Zoom Panel competition – Judge Steve Clifford
Tuesday 20/10/2020 Hand in for 2nd Aggregate competition
Tuesday 27/10/2020 Zoom 2nd Aggregate – Judge Kirsty Ralfs
       
Tuesday 10/11/2020 Zoom Roger Butler – Canal Heritage
Tuesday 24/11/2020 Zoom 3 Ss Competition – Judge Dave Tucker
Thursday 26/11/2020 Zoom with Shirley PS Ralph Snook – Wildlife snaps from my travels
Wednesday 02/12/2020 Live trial at hall Phil Moorhouse – My images and creating a website
Tuesday 08/12/2020 Zoom Ashley Franklin – Part 1: Wider world of photography (Its history and genres)
Christmas Break
Wednesday 06/01/2021 Live at hall Harish Chavda – Sports and landscape prints
Tuesday 12/01/2021 Hand in for 3rd Aggregate
Tuesday 19/01/2021 Zoom 3rd Aggregate – Judge Paddy Ruske
Wednesday 03/02/2021 Live in hall Verity Milligan –Birmingham based local photographer and educator
Tuesday 09/02/2021 Hand in for 4th Aggregate
Tuesday 16/02/2021 Zoom 4th Aggregate – Judge Lloyd Moore
Wednesday 03/03/2021 Live at hall Andy Thorpe – People, places and things
Tuesday 16/03/2021 Zoom Phil Savoie- Wildlife photographer and film maker formerly with BBC Natural History Unit
Wednesday 31/03/2021 Live at hall Ashley Franklin – Part 2 : Wider world of photography
Easter Break
Tuesday 6/04/2021 Hand in for annual DPI
Tuesday 13/04/2021 Zoom Annual DPI – Judge Nick Akers
Wednesday 28/04/2021 Live at hall Annual Print – Judge Anne Sutcliffe
Tuesday 11/05/2021 Zoom Speaker to be confirmed
Wednesday 26/05/2021 Live at hall AGM and social

 

To give a flavour of our meetings, the 2019-20 programme was:

September 2019
3rd   – Speaker – Peter Gennard – PG Tips, Fresh Brew
10th – Members’ Evening – Practical studio photography. Bring your camera.
17th – Speaker – Irene Froy – Land, shore, and sky
24th – Speaker – Tim Cornbill – Architecture and Urban Photography

October 2019
1st  – 1st Aggregate Competition – Judge Chris Baldwin
8th –  Speaker – Phil Cooling – Weird and Wonderful … ish
15th – Panel Competition – Judge Dave Tucker
22nd – Speaker – Jamie Peters – Army Photography
29th –  2nd Aggregate Competition – Judge Ken Hudson

November 2019
5th   – Speaker – Graham Heywood – Fresh imaginations
12th – AV Competition, Judge Richard Brown
19th – Speaker –Chris Fairweather – Photojournalism: Stories from the road 
26th –3Ss Competition – Judge Louise Hill

December 2019
3rd  – Christmas Dinner
10th –The President’s Evening 
17th – It’s a Knockout and Christmas Social

January 2020
7th  – Speaker – Anne Sutcliffe – Travelling Light
14th – 3rd Aggregate Competition– Judge Heather Woodhams
21st – MCPF Portfolio
28th – Speaker – Warren Alani – Seeing is believing

February 2020
4th  –  Speaker – Nettie Edwards – Mart phone photography and beyond
11th – 4th Aggregate Competition – Judge Chris Fletcher
18th – Activity Evening – Photograph small animals provided by Warren Davis of Wildside Encounters
25th – Annual Nature Competition – Judge Robert Ings
29th – Solihull Open Exhibition of British Photography at Solihull School.

March 2020
3rd  – Speaker – Nat Coalson – Photography as Fine Art
10th – Inter-club Contest with Webheath Photo Club – Judge John Haines

April 2020
Annual Projected Image Competition – Judged by Anne Sutcliffe using video conferencing.

June 2020
2nd – Speaker – Bob Breach with Travel Audio-Visuals
16th – Workshop – Jim Hiscox on making and editing Videos

July 2020
7th – Speaker – Robert Harvey with “Small is Beautiful”
21st – Workshop – Bob Breach. “How do I …”?

August 2020
4th – Speaker – Les Jones with the Story of Elsie magazine
18th – Speaker – Wayne Brittle with “Another time, another place”